Champ Car World Series Champions(updated)........

All about the Champ Car World Series (CCWS)

Moderators: Ed, mlittle

Forum Hall of Fame
Forum Hall of Fame
Posts: 11205
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 12:51 pm
Location: At the F1 Idiots Bar.............where else?

Champ Car World Series Champions(updated)........

Post by mlittle » Mon Nov 13, 2006 4:40 pm

The purpose of this thread is honor both the series and rookie champions in the modern era of NA motorsports(1979-present)

First, the series champions(note, CART from 1979-2003, ChampCar from 2004-present)

1979} Rick Mears, Penske Racing
1980} Johnny Rutherford, Chaparral Racing
1981} Rick Mears, Penske Racing
1982} Rick Mears, Penske Racing
1983} Al Unser, Sr., Penske Racing
1984} Mario Andretti, Newman-Haas Racing
1985} Al Unser, Sr., Penske Racing
1986} Bobby Rahal, Truesports Racing
1987} Bobby Rahal, Truesports Racing
1988} Danny Sullivan, Penske Racing
1989} Emerson Fittipaldi, Patrick Racing
1990} Al Unser, Jr., Galles-Kraco Racing
1991} Michael Andretti, Newman-Haas Racing
1992} Bobby Rahal, Rahal-Hogan Racing
1993} (R)Nigel Mansell, Newman-Haas Racing
1994} Al Unser, Jr., Marlboro-Team Penske
1995} Jacques Villeneuve, Team Green
1996} Jimmy Vasser, Target-Ganassi Racing
1997} Alex Zanardi, Target-Ganassi Racing
1998} Alex Zanardi, Target-Ganassi Racing
1999} Juan Pablo Montoya, Target-Ganassi Racing
2000} Gil de Ferran, Marlboro-Team Penske
2001} Gil de Ferran, Marlboro-Team Penske
2002} Cristiano da Matta, Newman-Haas Racing
2003} Paul Tracy, Forsythe Championship Racing
2004} Sebastien Bourdais, Newman-Haas Racing
2005} Sebastien Bourdais, Newman-Haas Racing
2006} Sebastien Bourdais, Newman-Haas Racing
2007} Sebastien Bourdais, Newman-Haas Racing

And, now, the rookies........
1979} Bill Alsup, Wasp Racing
1980} Dennis Firestone, Rhoades Racing
1981} Bob Lazier, Fletcher Racing
1982} Bobby Rahal, Truesports Racing
1983} Teo Fabi, Forsythe Racing(*1)
1984} Roberto Guerrero, Bignotti-Cotter Racing
1985} Arie Luyendyk, Bettenhausen Racing(*2)
1986} Dominic Dobson, Leader Cards Racing
1987} Fabrizio Barbazza, Arciero Racing
1988} John Jones, Arciero Racing
1989} Bernard Jourdain, Andale Racing
1990} Eddie Cheever, Ganassi Racing(*3)
1991} Jeff Andretti, Bayside Racing
1992} Stefan Johansson, Bettenhausen Racing(*2)
1993} Nigel Mansell, Newman-Haas Racing
1994} Jacques Villeneuve, Forsythe-Green Racing(*1)
1995} Gil de Ferran, Hall Racing
1996} Alex Zanardi, Target-Ganassi Racing
1997} Patrick Carpentier, Bettenhausen Racing(*2)
1998} Tony Kanaan, Tasman Motorsports
1999} Juan Pablo Montoya, Target-Ganassi Racing
2000} Kenny Brack, Team Rahal
2001} Scott Dixon, PacWest Racing
2002} Mario Dominguez, Herdez Competition(*2)
2003} Sebastien Bourdais, Newman-Haas Racing
2004} A.J. Allmendinger, RuSport Racing
2005} Timo Glock, Rocketsports Racing
2006} Will Power, Team Australia
2007} Robert Doornbos, Minardi Team USA

*1--Currently known as Forsythe Championship Racing, the team has also been known as Forsythe Racing, Forsythe-Green Racing and Player's Forsythe Racing
*2--Currently known as CTE-HVM Racing, the team has also been known as Bettenhausen Racing, Herdez Competition and HVM Racing
*3--Currently known as Target-Ganassi Racing, the team was previously known as Ganassi Racing
The Sci-Fi Station Come by and visit when you get the chance. :)
The Wayward Tarheel I'm even in the blogosphere.... :shock: